To: The general meeting of Gjensidige Forsikring ASA

From: The Nomination Committee

Date: 8 March 2013

# Election of members of the Supervisory Board, the Control Committee and the Nomination Committee

At ten meetings in autumn 2012 and spring 2013, the Nomination Committee has considered nominations of candidates for the company's governing bodies. In addition to the committee's contact with the Gjensidige Foundation, a letter was sent to ten of the biggest shareholders in which they were invited to provide input to the nomination process. The Nomination Committee's recommendations for the election of members to the Supervisory Board, the Nomination Committee and the Control Committee are presented below.

The following shareholder-elected members are the current holders of the different offices:

### **The Supervisory Board:**

Name	Office	Elected for the first time
Bjørn Iversen	Chair	2010
Hilde Myrberg	Deputy Chair/member	2011
Benedikte Bettina Bjørn	Member	2010
Arne G Krog	Member	2010
John Ove Ottestad	Member	2010
Lilly T Stakkeland	Member	2010
Even Søfteland	Member	2010
Randi Dille	Member	2010
Marit Frogner	Member	2011
Geir Holtet	Member	2010
Knud Daugaard	Member	2011
Christina Stray	Member	2011
Stephan Adler Petersen	Member	2012
Terje Wold	Member	2011
Ivar Kvinlaug	First deputy member	2010
Inger Tone Ødegård	Second deputy member	2010
Hanne Solheim Hansen	Third deputy member	2012
Eline Busch Tønnesen	Fourth deputy member	2012

The Supervisory Board consists of 21 members, two-thirds of whom are elected by the shareholders at the general meeting. It is standard practice that the Board of the Gjensidige Foundation proposes candidates for one-third of the Supervisory Board. In addition, one-third are elected by and from among the employees.

All members are now up for election and will be elected for a term of one year, cf. the Articles of Association, Article 2-6.

With the exception of Arne G Krog, all members have stated that they are available for reelection.

#### **The Nomination Committee:**

Name	Office	Elected for the first time
Bjørn Iversen	Chair	2010
Benedikte Bettina Bjørn	Member	2010
Jan Eyolf Brustad	Member	2010

John Ove Ottestad	Member	2010
Beate Bredesen	Member	2012

All members are now up for election and will be elected for a term of one year, cf. the Articles of Association, Article 2-4.

It is standard practice that the Chair of the Gjensidige Foundation's Nomination Committee is elected as a member of Gjensidige Forsikring ASA's Nomination Committee. The Gjensidige Foundation has proposed Ivar Kvinlaug as the new Chair of the Gjensidige Foundation's Nomination Committee.

#### The Control Committee:

Name	Office	Elected for the first time
Sven Iver Steen	Chair	2010
Hallvard Strømme	Member	2010
Liselotte Aune Lee	Member	2010
Vigdis Myhre Næsseth	deputy member	2010

All members are now up for election and will be elected for a term of one year, cf. the Articles of Association, Article 2-5.

All members have stated that they are available for re-election.

As in connection with previous nominations, the Nomination Committee has emphasised that the Supervisory Board should be wide-ranging in its composition. In addition, the Nomination Committee has emphasised continuity and gender and age balance, and experience and expertise that can meet the different bodies' needs, as well as representation from different parts of Norway and from the Nordic countries.

In this light, the Nomination Committee submits the following recommendation for the elections to the Supervisory Board, the Control Committee and the Nomination Committee, and a recommendation for the general meeting's proposal in connection with the Supervisory Board's election of Chair and Deputy Chair:

#### Recommendation:

## Election of members and deputy members of the Supervisory Board:

The Nomination Committee recommends that the following persons be re-elected:

Biørn Iversen Member Benedikte Bettina Bjørn Member Stephan Adler Petersen Member John Ove Ottestad Member Lilly T Stakkeland Member Even Søfteland Member Randi Dille Member Marit Frogner Member Geir Holtet Member Knud Daugaard Member Christina Stray Member Hilde Myrberg Member Terje Wold Member

Ivar Kvinlaug First deputy member Inger Tone Ødegård Second deputy member

Hanne Solheim Hansen Third deputy member

Kjersti Eline Tønnessen Busch

Fourth deputy member

Moreover, the Nomination Committee proposes the following person as a new member of the Supervisory Board:

Jan Skaug Member (new)

In accordance with the provisions of the Financial Institutions Act section 2d-3 subsection (4), the first and second deputy members will only be called on to attend meetings if persons who also hold office in the Gjensidige Foundation have given notice that they will be unable to attend. In other cases where members are unable to attend, the third and fourth deputy members will be called on to attend.

Information about all the candidates is enclosed.

# The general meeting's proposal for the Supervisory Board's election of Chair and Deputy Chair

The Nomination Committee nominates Bjørn Iversen as the general meeting's candidate for Chair of the Supervisory Board and Hilde Myrberg as the general meeting's candidate for Deputy Chair.

#### **Election to the Nomination Committee**

The Nomination Committee recommends that the following persons be re-elected:

Bjørn Iversen Chair Benedikte Bettina Bjørn Member Beate Bredesen Member John Ove Ottestad Member

Moreover, the Nomination Committee proposes the following person as a new member of the Nomination Committee:

Ivar Kvinlaug Member

Information about all the candidates is enclosed.

### **Election to the Control Committee**

The Nomination Committee recommends that the following persons be re-elected:

Sven Iver Steen Chair Liselotte Aune Lee Member Hallvar Strømme Member

Vigdis Myhre Næsseth Deputy member

Information about all the candidates is enclosed.

Bjørn Iversen

Chair of the Nomination Committee.

**Enclosures:**